☰ Menu

Our Sixth Formright
Next stepsright
Applying for Uniright

Apply Now
SPH School Site
Contact Details
Taster Day
Online Payments
Term Dates
About Us
Taster Day
Term Dates 2017-18
Exams Guide and Timetable 2018
Contact Details
Information for Students
Parental Involvement
Ofsted Report 2016
Duke of Edinburgh Award
The Extended Project Qualification
Art and Design: Fine Art
BTEC Business Studies
BTEC Computer Studies
BTEC Sport
Business Studies
Computer Studies
Dance and Movement
Drama and Theatre Studies
English Language
English Literature
Government and Politics
Mathematics - Further Maths
Media Studies
Physical Education
Product Design
R.E. Philosophy and Ethics
Career Links and Downloads
Apprenticeships Links and Downloads
Want to go to University
The Application Process
Student Finance Information

BTEC Computer Studies

Course Details
Dept - ICT & Computing
Type of Qualifcation - BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate
Exam Board - Pearson

Additional Entry Requirements -

Course Content
Year 1
Unit 1 Principles of Computer Science

This unit covers the principles that underpin all areas of computer science. It will develop your computational-thinking skills and you will apply those skills to solve problems
120 Hours External Exam

Option Unit
The qualification includes a choice of optional units, including:
• Unit 11: Digital Graphics and Animation
• Unit 15: Games and Website Development.
• Unit 17: Mobile Apps Development
60 Hours Internally Assessed work

Year 2
Unit 2 Fundamentals of Computer Systems

Learners study the fundamental principles of how computer systems work, including the role of hardware and software, the way components of a system work together and how data in a system is used.
90 Hours External Exam

Unit 7 IT Systems Security and Encryption
Learners will study IT system security threats and the methods used to protect against them. Learners undertake activities to protect IT systems from security threats, including data encryption.
90 Hours Internally Assessed work

Style of Assessment
Whose kind of course?
The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Computing is equivalent in size to one A Level. It is aimed at post 16 learners who are interested in an initial introduction to study of the ICT sector at Level 3 alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, but not necessarily in computing.

It allows learners to gain fundamental knowledge and skills in computing from which they can progress to broader or more specialist study at Level 3. The qualification can be taken in combination with A Levels or other vocational qualifications to meet progression requirements.
Career Prospects
The subjects and transferable skills taught in Computing directly relate to the world of work and would help you to continue with further studies in both Engineering and Computer Science at university.

Without further study, the course would equip you for roles like:
• Service Desk Analyst
• IT User Support Technician
• Trainee Applications Support Developer
• Trainee Software Developer
• Trainee Web Developer