Description Text

Exams at SPH

Section explaining how exams work and where to go to find the exam timetable 

GCE Examinations

General Certificate of Education (GCE)

Results for the General Certificate of Education AS and Advanced Level are published in six grades. A*(only applicable at A2), A, B, C, D & E are all pass grades; below this is U (unclassified).

GCSE Examinations

General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE)

Nine pass grades are awarded: 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. Candidates failing to reach the minimum required standard are awarded grade U (unclassified). Students and their parents should be aware that many future opportunities, for example sixth form study, entry to higher education and certain careers, require pass grades from the 9 to 4 range.

BTEC Examinations

Pass grades of D*, D, M and P are awarded for BTEC examinations. Candidates who fail to reach the required standard are awarded grade U (unclassified).

Examination Bodies

In this school we use four different examining bodies:

  • AQA Assessment and Qualifications Alliance
  • EDX Pearson Edexcel
  • OCR Oxford, Cambridge and RSA.

These abbreviations will occur in the timetable section of this Guide.

Cost of Examination Entries

Entry is made by each subject department and the school pays the fee for that entry. Students who accept entry for any subject and then fail to complete the coursework or fail to attend any examination sitting will be expected to repay the entry fee to the school through the Bursar unless a medical certificate is produced or some other acceptable reason given in writing.